Is the FRM curriculum hopelessly disjointed? (comparing FRM and CFA)

[email protected]

Subscriber
Hello everyone,

My name is Wojtek Buczynski and I'm studying for FRM Level 2 in Nov 2013, having passed L1 in Nov 2012. I also took CFA Level 1 and Level 2 (failing the latter...).

Having done exams for both qualifications, and going at it minimizing the risk the best I can (i.e. the best money can buy - prep courses for both, full set of official books, sample exams - the works) I find myself having really mixed feelings about FRM, by comparison with CFA. For those of you who read them, and those who didn't, I consider official CFA Institute study books gold standard - they explain exam issues brilliantly, always have numerical examples, they're virtually error-free, and, importantly, they form a logical flow of topics. Having studied from a number of finance textbooks for my under- and postgrad, I consider them a league of their own; only Fabozzi stands at the same level, which makes sense, as Fabozzi is one of the pillars of CFA Institute, and he writes substantial section of CFA fixed income books.